The Team

Graham Watts

Chief Executive – Construction Industry Council (CIC)

Graham has been involved with CIC since 1989: initially, as a member of the Council and its Executive Board, then as a Director. He was appointed Chief Executive and Secretary in October 1991.

Graham is responsible for the general policy and direction of the Council, for maintaining effective communication with Government, other external agencies and with members and for establishing and maintaining the CIC Secretariat and office.

He is an Honorary Fellow of RIBA, CIBSE, CABE, ICWCI, BIID, CICES and the Faculty of Building and an Honorary Member of the RICS and CIAT. He was awarded the President’s Medal of the CIOB in 2000 and the Peter Stone Award of the Association of Building Engineers in 1996. He was appointed OBE in 2008 for services to construction.

He is currently a Board member of CICAIR Ltd, Constructionarium, CUB (Holdings) Ltd, the Considerate Constructors Scheme and Building a Safer Future Ltd; and was formerly a trustee of the Happold Trust and the Sir Ian Dixon Trust. He is a Council member of the NHBC. He was a Visiting Professor at the University of Northumbria for twelve years from 2000. He has been Secretary of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Excellence in the Built Environment since 2010. He is also Chair of Trustees for the Spanish Theatre Trust and the Cervantes Theatre.

Graham had a long involvement in the sport of fencing and his competitive career culminated with a Commonwealth Medal in 1990. In 1992, he captained the British Sabre team at the Barcelona Olympic Games. He was the Manager of the British Fencing Team from 1996 and the Performance Director of the British Olympic Fencing Team for 10 years from 2000 to 2010, and Team Leader at the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games.

Outside of CIC, he is an established international dance writer and critic. He is a member of The Critics’ Circle, the UNESCO Dance Council, One Dance UK and the Society of Dance Research. He has been Chairman of the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle and of the National Dance Awards since 2010. He is the published author of three books about dance.