Building a
Safer Future


First group of companies successfully complete the first stage of the Champion assessment

Building a Safer Future (BSF) is delighted to announce the first group of organisations being awarded its Certificate of Commitment and Progress – Building Safety Stage One: Leadership and Culture, having completed Stage 1 in its new building safety culture change programme.

Congratulations to the Organisations which have successfully completed the first Champion assessment module, demonstrating their commitment to establishing and maintaining a culture of building safety in their activities:

  • Barratt Developments Plc
  • Danescroft Development Management LLP
  • Galliford Try
  • Hill Holdings Ltd
  • Martin Arnold
  • MHS Homes
  • Morgan Sindall
  • Orion Fire Engineering Ltd
  • Persimmon Homes Ltd
  • Salix Homes

The 10 successful completers will share their learning in forging a positive culture & behavioural change in building safety at the next Building a Safer Future conference: Culture Change in Construction: Leading Building Safety. The conference will be held on Thursday 23 March 2023 at the Queen Elizabeth II Centre, Westminster, SW1P 3EE.

Case studies from the successful completers are also available on the Building A Safer Future website, where everyone interested in undertaking the journey to embed a culture of building safety in their organisation will be able to access them and be inspired by their efforts.

Dame Judith Hackitt, Chair of the Independent Review of Building Regulations and Fire Safety and Chair of the Industry Safety Steering Group commented:

“Driving culture change in any industry sector is challenging but none more so than in this the built environment, with so many players and moving parts and the levels of fragmentation; but it is vital to achieve the new desired state following the loss of trust and confidence.

“I want to applaud those who have received their Stage 1 awards. They are leaders and can take pride in the progress they have made on their journeys. We now need many more to commit to following their example of driving culture change for the right reasons rather than waiting for regulators to drive the change.”

The BSF Champion assessment process gives companies detailed insight into their existing leadership and culture around building safety and equips them with actionable data and practical tools to help review and upgrade processes and regain public trust.

The assessment process is divided into two modules – ‘Leadership and Culture (Stage 1)’ and ‘Corroborating Elements (Stage 2)’. The first Stage includes an extensive survey of workers at all levels in the organisation, which examines the depth and maturity of the leadership and building safety culture in the company

At the end of the process, companies receive a detailed report with invaluable information on what is happening on the ground and to enable them to produce prioritised continuous improvement plans. Companies that go on to successfully complete the second module (Corroborating Elements) to the required minimum standard are then awarded with full Building a Safer Future Champion status.

Steve Elliott, Non-Executive Chair of Building A Safer Future, added:

“Building a Safer Future has developed an invaluable tool that we are delighted to see being taken advantage of by more and more organisations. 

“This first tranche of companies to have successfully completed the Leadership and Culture module should be proud of the commitment and sectoral leadership they have shown in achieving this Stage 1 award. I encourage other organisations to follow the great example they are setting in engaging with the BSF Champion assessment and putting building safety first.”

Anyone wishing to apply to participate in the BSF Champions programme can do so by clicking here and completing the application form, or alternatively they can email for further information.